Books I didn’t Expect to Enjoy

People sometimes ask for my favourite books, or the authors that most influence me.  The following are neither of these.  They’re the books that were recommended to me that I didn’t want to read because they looked dreadful, the books that I picked up because I was bored or because there was nothing else to hand.  Never judge a book by its cover, be wary of its reputation.  I really enjoyed the following…

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

When my daughter recommended these to me I was like  no way,   but when I started reading them I was like hey these are soooo cool.
Actually, I found the books really funny.  Like all the best fictional diarists, Mia’s perception of herself is not that of the reader, and a lot of the comedy stems from this.  I like the fact that you could read these as teenager and then again as an adult and have a completely different view of what went on.
There are also links to online tips on how to be a princess on the jacket, but I haven’t used those yet.

Bravo Two Zero by Andy McNab

A number of friends (all male) recommended this, and I read it in the end mainly to keep them quiet.  I’m glad I did as it gave me a completely different perspective on army life.  The book deals with fighting and incompetence and torture, but it’s the small details that stick in the mind, the events that take part away from the action, like the author walking the streets with his girlfriend the night before he set off on his mission as they neither of them knew what else to do.

Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes

Chick lit of the highest calibre.  Yes, its a rom com, but with a twist as the heroine gradually comes to terms with the fact that she’s an alcoholic and drug addict.  Marian Keyes know’s all about this as she used to be one herself. Writing a book that deals with the issue, but keeping it funny, positive and yet realistic is quite an achievement.

Incidentally, the book says Trust Marian on the spine.  I can’t help thinking that I should have something similar on the spines of my books.   How does Trust Tony sound?
Leave a Reply

