A Narrower Focus

I sometimes wonder if I should narrow the focus of this blog.  I can’t help think that  allowing myself to write about Robots and Accordions gives me too wide a scope and I should instead restrict myself to, for example, only writing about 72 Bass accordions and androids.  Or maybe even further, so that I only discuss accordions that are actually being played by robots.

It has never been said that life is like a robot playing the accordion, but then again a lot of things haven’t been said about accordions, and maybe I am the one to say them.  After all, there aren’t many people talking about accordions nowadays.

But let’s get to the point.

A friend bought me a CD for Christmas.  I won’t name the friend, or the CD, but it was typical of a certain style of music that is popular at the moment, one which contains elements from all kinds of music.  A little Jazz, a little folk, baroque harpsichord ostinatos that segue straight into South American rhythms. You probably know the sort of thing I’m talking about.  Now, not for a moment would I suggest that people refrain from experimenting with other forms, but I think that there comes a point when you have to commit yourself to something.  You can’t really develop a piece if you keep throwing something new in every time you’re struggling for inspiration:  you’ve got to work with what you’ve got so far.  This is just as true in writing as it is in musical composition.

This, for me, is one of the attractions of good Genre fiction.  Immerse yourself in the conventions, and then use them to create something new.  It’s not the only way to write, by any means, but it’s a good one.

4 Responses to A Narrower Focus

  1. I completely understand what you mean. I’ve been having a somewhat similar struggle with narrowing the focus on my blog. I like your analogy in the last paragraph of your post. It might help me. Thank you!

  2. Ian Williams says:

    Hi Tony, I’ve just finished Blood and Iron and loved it, damn those human scum! I was really hoping to see something about the next Penrose Novel, is there one? I can seem to find anything on your website that says there might be, until I read your blog of course and the hints are there (not sure about the accordion bit but…). Please add something to your next blog if you are working on part 3, alternatively send me an email, I’d love to discuss ideas.

    • Hi Ian

      I’m writing it very slowly due to other circumstances. I’ll keep this blog up to date when I have more news. In the meantime, thanks for letting me know that you enjoyed B&I! And yes, I’d love to discuss ideas.

      Best

      Tony

Leave a Reply

